Sunday, November 30, 2014

Mary J Blige's Album The London Sessions is Released December 2, 2014

Note: This was originally published on my fitness and lifestyle blog Feeling Fit, Bit by Bit.

Mary J Blige has done it again! Her new album The London Sessions is due for release December 2, 2014 from Capitol Records. The London Sessions showcases Blige's powerful voice as well as her determination, talent and resilience. The sound is distinctly "Mary", yet the influences of her collaborators Sam Smith, Disclosure, Emeli Sandé and others give it a hint of the London sound.

Disclosure: I participated in the Mary J Blige The London Sessions album review program as a member of One2One Network. I was provided a free album to review, but all opinions are my own as a listener and a fan.

The London Sessions by Mary J. Blige Cover #TheLondonSessions #O2O

About the London Sessions:

Mary J Blige likely needs no introduction. Her resume' boasts eight multi-platinum albums, nine Grammy Awards (plus a staggering 31 nominations), a 2012 Golden Globe nomination, and four American Music Awards, Mary J Blige is a global superstar. As established as she is, she still evolves as an artist. The London Sessions reflects the next phase in her evolution.
In an effort to shake things up and step out of her musical comfort zone, Mary J Blige spent a month in London writing and collaborating with some of the most exciting and popular artists in the UK Рincluding Sam Smith, Disclosure, Emeli Sand̩. The result is her highly anticipated album The London Sessions Рwhich will be released on December 2, 2014.
An inspirational and powerful performer, Mary J Blige knows the ups and downs of life. If you’ve ever seen her perform, you know the passion she brings to her everything she does.  The London Sessions is full of meaningful moments and uplifting messages.  Get ready for some “Therapy” in the form of a new Mary J Blige album! (Quote from London Sessions press materials)
“It’s all about the London Music scene and I’m so excited to have been part of it, to record my album,” says Mary J  Blige. “The songs are fun, therapeutic and soulful. This is a beautiful change for me and I’m proud of what we have done here.”    

I always find it interesting to learn a little about the artist's process and inspiration. The following trailer sets the scene for The London Sessions.


Track Listing for The London Sessions by Mary J. Blige:

1. Therapy
2. Doubt
3. Not Loving You
4. When You're Gone
5. Right Now
6. My Loving
7.Long Hard Look
8. Whole Damn Year
9. Nobody But You
10. Pick Me Up
11. Follow
12. Worth My Time

Ms. Blige isn't afraid to get personal and to sing life's struggles. Several songs on The London Sessions feel highly intimate and personal. Mary J. Blige has long been a superstar of popular music with a soul flavor. I love that she has such a range including fun, party songs and songs that explore the darker struggles many of us face. I love that she sings with a voice of strength and resilience. The following "Lyric Video" of the track "Whole Damn Year" is a good example of some of the raw and highly intimate music from the London Sessions:

The London Sessions also contains highly energetic uplifting songs such as My Love. I dare you to listen without dancing (at least with your mind and soul if not your body). Another track that literally  moves me to dance is the strong, yet sassy Right Now. Enjoy the video for a taste of The London Sessions...

Many listeners, especially women, may feel that Ms Blige is singing directly to them with her deepest truth. I, for one, love the mix of the personal lyrics and the music. I have had The London Sessions on loop for a couple days. With each listen, I feel like I have been on an emotional journey. Sometimes I find myself getting up from my desk to dance and snap my fingers. Some times I feel moved to tears (well, on first listen I did).  I certainly think it is worth a listen for any fan of Mary J Blige, of the London sound, or uplifting music in general.

Mary J Blige publicity photograph #TheLondonSessions #O2O


Pre-order or Purchase Information (Release Date December 2): 

The London Sessions is due for release December 2, 2014. I have also included some affiliate links in the pre-order and purchasing information. If you click on the Amazon or Itunes links and make a purchase then I receive a small commission.

On Amazon (in CD, MP3 and Vinyl formats):

And on Mary J. Blige's Official Website  and your favorite music retailers starting December 2, 2014.

Also on Enjoys & Shares or Feeling Fit, Bit by Bit: